## APPENDIX K

## BYLAWS OF THE McGINTY MERITORIOUS CAREER AWARD COMMITTEE

- 1. The McGinty Meritorious Career Award, also called the Garnie W. McGinty Lifetime Meritorious Service Award, was established in 1990 to recognize members of the Louisiana Historical Association who, over the length of their careers, have made significant contributions to scholarship in Louisiana history, to the historical profession in Louisiana, and/or to the Association.
- 2. One recipient may be chosen annually; however, there is no requirement that an award be made in any given year.
- 3. Recipients will be chosen by the McGinty Meritorious Career Award Committee, which is established as follows:
  - a. Members of the committee will be appointed by the president of the Association;
  - b. There will be three members, who will serve staggered three-year terms;
  - c. One committee member must always be chosen from the history faculty at Louisiana Tech University;
  - d. In the first year of implementation of these bylaws, one member will be appointed for a three-year term, one for a two-year term, and one for a one-year term.
  - e. The committee member from Louisiana Tech University will serve as committee chair.
- 4. The McGinty meritorious Career Award Committee will function as follows:
  - a. By October 1 of the academic year during which a recipient is to be selected, the committee chair will confirm with the McGinty Trust of Ruston, LA, that funds will be available for an award during that year.
  - b. The committee will solicit nominations openly from the general membership, and it may generate nominations internally;
  - c. The committee will receive nominations from the general membership until February 1 of the year in which the award is to be made;
  - d. By March 1 preceding the Association's annual meeting, the committee chair will report the name of the year's recipient, if any, to the Secretary-Treasurer of the Association, who will notify the recipient in advance of the annual meeting.